BeforeYourNext Birthday-DeniseFisher’s Blog

Get fit, get organized, & get your financial affairs in order

7 Salads for 7 Days

Posted by denisefisher on March 4, 2009

When you’re hungry, you seek out whatever’s ready to eat. If you want eat more salads, do some advance preparations, so that healthy foods are what’s ready to eat. What follows is a plan that I used for a week of salads. It’s based on my personal preferences, and is meant as an inspiration for you. Make your plan to match your own preferences, using whatever amount of variety or repetition that you want. The important part is having a plan.

Preparation for 7 Salads

The first day of the 7 Salads for 7 Days plan is the most labor intensive. But if you’re like most people who are enthusiastic about a project in the beginning, when the idea is new, then this is perfect. Advance preparation sets the stage for the subsequent salad days and gives you the foundation you need – the lettuce.

Romaine - 3 heads

The Lettuce

For most of my salads, I prefer romaine. It’s more hearty and flavorful than the popular, but virtually tasteless, head lettuce. Romaine has the crispness to hold up for a week, and the moderate flavor that lets the taste of other salad ingredients and dressings come through. Of course, you can use other greens or hearty staples to your salad mix (shredded red cabbage or carrots are popular), but for purposes of simplicity, in this demonstration, I’m going to focus on using romaine.
6 Salads in Containters

I separate the leaves from the head as I wash them, and then split each leaf in half lengthwise. Then I cut the stacked halves crosswise into bite-sized pieces. Jeremy, at Generation X Finance, shows his technique in great detail on his blog post, How to Prepare a Salad to Last All Week. He uses a salad spinner to drain the excess water after cutting, and adds a paper towel to the storage bowl. I keep the leaves wet and seal the cut lettuce in plastic containers. Try your own techniques to see what works best for you, considering your storage containers, your refrigerator temperature, and the shelf life of the lettuce or other greens you’re using.

7 Salads for 7 Days
On the first salad day of the week, I store six containers of salad lettuce for the week, and prepare one salad to eat now. For this week, my first salad is a Caesar salad.

Caesar Salad Ingredients Caesar Salad Prepared

Salad #1 – Caesar Salad

This is my “default” salad. When I don’t have a good selection of other salad vegetables to add (or when I just don’t feel like going to a lot of trouble), the Caesar salad is the easiest, least work-involved salad I can make. I use bottled dressing, packaged croutons, and pre-grated Parmesan cheese to keep it convenient. If I have some fresh mushrooms available, and the inclination, I’ll slice some mushrooms to add. I have a bottle that I use to shake up the dressing with a little water so that I can add enough dressing to coat everything without making the salad too heavy, and it keeps the calorie count down as well.

Mandarin Orange Salad Ingredients Mandarin Orange Salad Prepared

Salad #2 – Mandarin Orange Salad

This salad includes the benefit of a serving of fruit with your healthy greens. Canned oranges make this a choice that’s convenient and uses fruit that can be stored longer than fresh items. My salad ingredients also include glazed almond slices, chopped celery, and a blended dressing of oil, vinegar, sugar, and juice from the oranges.

Chix Thai Salad Ingredients Chix Thai Salad Prepared

Salad #3 – Thai Chix Salad

For this salad, I toasted a frozen chicken-patty substitute. Then I added chopped tomato, cucumber, sliced almonds, to the salad mix, and topped it with a spicy Thai peanut sauce.

Greek Salad Ingredients Greek Salad Prepared

Salad #4 – Greek Salad

This salad combines cucumber, tomato, red onion, black olives and feta cheese over the lettuce foundation. The dressing is a simple blend of oil, vinegar, and seasonings – shaken, not stirred.

Strawberry Spinach Salad Ingredients Strawberry Spinach Salad Prepared

Salad #5 – Strawberry Spinach Salad

Even though the original salad recipe calls for spinach only, I use my romaine lettuce base, and add leftover spinach from earlier in the week. Cucumbers, red onions, and almonds were also ingredients that I had on hand for use in other salads (are you noticing that several of my food items are used in varying combinations in other salads, so that everything gets used up and nothing goes to waste?). The dressing was a sweet and tangy poppy seed mixture. And, like the mandarin orange salad, this one features the bonus of a adding a serving of fruit to your daily diet – strawberries!

Taco Salad Ingredients Taco Salad Prepared

Salad #6 – Taco Salad

This salad is hearty enough that it can be the main entrée. Add a side serving of warm tortilla chips with salsa, and you’re all set. This salad can include a combination of whatever appropriate ingredients you have available. For mine, I started with a ground beef substitute, heated, and mixed with taco seasoning. Then I added avocado, tomato, black olives, and shredded cheese. When it comes to a dressing, there are a few compatible choices that can be used – sour cream, salsa, or a bottled dressing with essences of tomato, like Catalina French or Thousand Island. Taco salad is also a good way to make use of the broken tortilla chips that settle to the bottom of the bag, instead of throwing them away. Toasting them briefly in the oven will rejuvenate any chips that have a hint of staleness.

Whatever Salad Ingredients Whatever Salad Prepared

Salad #7 – Whatever Salad

This is the name that I chose to describe what is basically a tossed salad – romaine lettuce, mixed with whatever combination of ingredients or leftover vegetables remain to be used. For my Whatever Salad, I used a hard-boiled egg, avocado, carrots, green pepper, mushrooms, and croutons. The salad dressing I chose was a honey-mustard variety.

Caesar Salad PreparedMandarin Orange Salad PreparedChix Thai Salad PreparedGreek Salad PreparedStrawberry Spinach Salad PreparedTaco Salad PreparedWhatever Salad Prepared

7 Salads for 7 Days

So there you have it – a plan to incorporate salads into your daily menu choices every day of the week, starting with the convenience of prepared lettuce (or other mixed greens), and adding other healthy ingredients for variety. If you make a salad for dinner, you might even want to make an extra serving that you can have the following day for lunch. Keep certain ingredients and dressings separate (depending on the types of ingredients involved and your own tolerance for sogginess), if you want to assemble your salad just before eating it. To get additional ideas and inspiration, search through cookbooks, magazines, or online recipe sites. The ones with photos are best. Now doesn’t this make you want to put together your own 7-day salad plan?

7 Responses to “7 Salads for 7 Days”

  1. Kelly said

    Denise,

    You know something? I think I could actually follow this! You just made it so simple that I’m printing this out right now, and I’m already thinking of variations that will get my kid (and me) to get a kick out of our greens. Yum, thanks!

    Regards,

    Kelly

  2. Cool deal Kelly. I imagine having your kid involved in this as a project would make it fun. I’d love to hear how it goes and if you have any interesting salad choices that could be included in a future update.

  3. Trish said

    Great tips!
    So, do you put all the toppings on and store them in the containers to grab and go or do you put them together each morning? And everything stays fresh…of course you put the dressing on before you eat it but I wondered about the other ingred. thanks

  4. Trish,

    I usually cut up and add the ingredients just before I plan to eat it (it’s amazing how quickly you can create a salad when the lettuce is already prepared). If I’m making a salad for lunch, I usually add the vegetables to the lettuce the night before, keeping crisp ingredients (like nuts and croutons) separate and adding them, and the dressing, just before I eat it.

    The strawberry spinach salad, however, seems best if it’s made an hour or two before eating. It really enhances the syrupy strawberry flavor.

    Try doing them different ways to see how they suit you. Some ingredients hold up better than others.

  5. I really must try this! I’ve been buying those plastic tubs of mixed greens because I don’t have to wash them and tear some up every time I make salad, but this would be a good alternative, because sometimes I’d rather have lettuce!

  6. Janet,

    I’ve found that cut-your-own lettuce (with or without other salad greens, carrots, cabbage, etc.) lasts longer and doesn’t have odd pieces of cores, stems, or decaying pieces of leaves clinging to the container. Also, it’s less expensive and, unlike packaged salad mix, I rarely throw out my own cut up mix. I hope it works for you equally well.

  7. Tzatziki sauce recipe…

    7 Salads for 7 Days « BeforeYourNext Birthday-DeniseFisher’s Blog…

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

